CTAT: Career & Technology Association of Texas

Professional Awards

The CTAT/ACTE Excellence Awards promote excellence in career and technical education. CTAT/ACTE recognizes those individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to CTE, programs that exemplify the highest standards and organizations that have conducted activities to promote and expand CTE programs. Award winners serve as inspirational leaders to ACTE: they embody the core values of serving their students and being committed to CTE.

State Excellence Awards are presented annually at the CTAT Awards Banquet in conjunction with CTAT's Summer Texas Career Education Conference. Please join CTAT and more than 100 banquet attendees at this event celebrating career and technical educators who make a difference in students' lives every day. Winners advance to represent Texas in the Region IV ACTE awards program. Region IV winners advance to the national ACTE award program level.

The Excellence Awards fall into two categories:

  • Member Awards Deadline May 1, 2014—for association members who have contributed to the success of CTE through the quality of their work and their involvement in the CTE community
  • Image Awards Deadline May 1, 2014---(formerly the Service Awards)—for groups and individuals from the education, business and industry communities that have contributed to the improvement, promotion, development and progress of CTE

The awards program is administered by the association's awards committee. The committee is responsible for recommending awards programs to the association's board of directors, setting criteria for awards, reviewing applications, selecting award recipients and overseeing all aspects of the recognition program for award winners.

Award Recipients

Gregory Shipp photo

Outstanding Administrator of the Year


Gregory Shipp

CTE Coordinator

Conroe ISD

Jeanie Bragg photo

Outstanding Guidance Educator of the Year


Jeanie Bragg

Career Counselor

Denton ISD

Phillip Gilbreath photo

Outstanding Administrator of the Year


Phillip Gilbreath

CTE Director

Garland ISD

M'Lee Brooks photo

Outstanding Guidance Educator of the Year


M'Lee Brooks

CTE Counselor

Klein ISD

Janelle Watson photo

Outstanding Administrator of the Year


Janelle Watson


Sharon Hetherington photo

Outstanding Guidance Educator of the Year


Sharon Hetherington

Coordinator of Counseling

Waco ISD